<- Back to news
Announcement of the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence 2011 Laureates


The Chairman of the Regional Eminent Persons Selection Panel, Mr. Michael K. Mansoor is pleased to invite the media to the Announcement of the Anthony N. Sabga Carribean Awards for Excellence 2011 Laureates on Friday February 04, 2011 at the ANSA McAL Boardroom, located on the 10th Floor, TATIL Building, 11 Maraval Road, Port of Spain at 10.am. All media covering this assignment are asked to set-up by 9.30 a.m.

Three new Laureates will receive prizes of half-million dollars from the Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence. They were selected from some 60 nominees throughout the English-speaking Caribbean.


The Awards’ Eminent Persons Panel, which makes the final selections for the Awards programme, met on January 15, and heard submissions from the chairs of the nominating committees of five territories:  Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States and Trinidad & Tobago.


Each nominating committee presented three nominees from its respective territory, in the categories of Arts & Letters, Science & Technology and Public & Civic Contributions to the panel who then deliberated at length, and made their decisions.


Various panel members whose composition includes Sir Shridath Ramphal (Guyana), Prof Compton Bourne (Guyana), Mr Michael Mansoor (Trinidad & Tobago), Mr Christopher Bovell (Jamaica), Mrs Judy Chang (Trinidad & Tobago), Sr Paul D’Ornellas (Trinidad & Tobago),

Justice Christopher Blackman (Barbados), Sir K. Dwight Venner (OECS), Major General Joseph Singh (Guyana), and Rev Dr Henry Charles (Trinidad & Tobago) noted the absence of the panel’s first chairman, Sir Ellis Clarke, who passed away earlier this year.


The Caribbean Awards will host a gala reception to present the Laureates with their medals, citations, and cheques at the Trinidad Hilton in early April 2011. The 2011 winners are the fourth set of Laureates named since the programmes inception in 2006. Between 2006 and 2010, three sets of Laureates (ten in all) have been named and presented with their awards. This year also marks the change from a biennial to an annual cycle.


The programme has, since 2006, been rapidly gaining recognition as the first initiative of such a scale and scope in the English-speaking Caribbean. It is privately funded by the ANSA McAL Foundation, and all its committees (nominating, and selection panel) work on a voluntary basis.


The Awards hosts a website www.ansacaribbeanawards.com, which contains links to its YouTube Channel, where video documentaries of its Laureates can be found, its Facebook page, and its first publication, The Laureate, which contains a profile of all the officers and Laureates.


For more information please contact Maria Superville-Neilson, Programme Director, The Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence at 622-6844, 628-8118 or Raymond Ramcharitar at 750-7235.





Important releases
The ANSA McAL Foundation Delivers On Its Promise To The Region See details ->
InTouch Edition 04 – Give It Your Best Shot See details ->