ANSA Caribbean announces 2010 Laureates

Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence Eminent Persons Selection Panel Chairman, Michael Mansoor making the announcements on Friday


15 January 2010: Three of the Caribbean’s most talented and distinguished people have been selected as the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence 2010 Laureates.


The Laureates honoured for their work in the following categories are: Art & Letters – Mr. Adrian Augier; Public & Civic Contributions – Mr Sydney Allicock, and for Science & Technology – Professor Kathleen Coard.  Full bios of the Laureates are included for reference.


The Laureates will be honoured at a gala Award Ceremony on April 17, 2010.


Each Laureate will receive The ANSA Caribbean Awards for Excellence Medal and a Citation to recognise and commend their achievements, and TT$500,000 to support their work and professional development.


The inaugural awards ceremony was held in 2006.  However, for the 2010 awards, the selection process was advanced to ensure the widest possible participation in the selection of laureates.


According to Programme Director, Maria Superville-Neilson: “The process for selection was revised and advanced and now is a simple, but completely thorough process.  We took the selection process to the publics of the participating nations, inviting nominations for persons deemed to be outstanding in their particular field of endeavour.  The nominations were sent to the Country Nominating Committees who considered all submissions alongside their own nominations.”


“Following this part of the process, the selected nominations were then sent to the Regional Eminent Persons Selection Panel, from where the three laureates were chosen based on their excellent work and potential for greater achievement.”


The Laureates were chosen from an exceptional field of nominations of highly accredited professionals from across the Caribbean that included Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, and the OECS including Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia and St. Vincent & the Grenadines. 


The four fundamental criteria used in selection were:  1) Laureates must demonstrate a track record of consistently superior work;  2) They must have the capacity for significant future achievement;  3) Their work must have had, or likely to have, a positive impact on the Caribbean region;  and 4) They must be worthy exemplars to people of the Region.


To identify eligible candidates, five Country Nominating Committees were established in Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, the OECS and Trinidad and Tobago.


The Regional Panel is chaired by Michael Mansoor. Also included on the Panel are Sir Ellis Clarke, Justice Christopher Blackman, Dr Compton Bourne, Mr Christopher Bovell, Mrs Judy Y Chang, Reverend Dr Henry J Charles, Sister Paul D’Ornellas, Sir Shridath Ramphal, Major General (Ret’d) Joseph Singh, Sir K Dwight Venner.



About the ANSA McAL Foundation & Business Group


The ANSA McAL Foundation was created in 1993.  From inception, it has been committed to addressing a broad range of social needs.  Over the years, the Foundation was funded by the ANSA McAL Group.  By investing this endowment, the Foundation is now self-financing and is able to undertake in perpetuity this significant commitment of the ANSA Caribbean Awards for Excellence Programme. The ANSA McAL Group is a leading Caribbean conglomerate consisting of over 60 trading companies and 5,000 employees.  It is the most diversified business group in the Region. It is involved in manufacturing, brewing, media (newspapers, radio and television), insurance, merchant banking and financial services, real estate development, automotive distributorships, trading and services.  The Group has significant business interests across the Region, particularly in Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, St Kitts & Nevis and the USA.