<- Back to news
Laureates named for Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence

The Laureates for the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence were named on Friday February 6, 2015, at the TATIL Building in Port of Spain.

This marks the tenth anniversary for the awards, and the introduction of a new category, Entrepreneurship. However, the selection panel for the Awards (The Eminent Persons Panel) did not
find any nominees they felt appropriate to be given the award in Public & Civic Contributions for 2015, though a joint award was made in Science & Technology.

The 2015 Laureates are:

Arts & Letters: Dr Paloma Mohamed, poet, playwright & academic from Guyana

Entrepreneurship: Mr Herbert Samuel, energy consultant and entrepreneur from St Vincent & the Grenadines

Science & Technology: Prof Suresh Narine, a bio-technologist from Guyana

Science & Technology: Prof Patrick Hosein, a Computer Scientist from Trinidad & Tobago

The Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards is the only programme in the Caribbean which seeks out and rewards outstanding nominees in Arts & Letters, Public & Civic Contributions, and Science & Technology, and as of 2015 Entrepreneurship. It has been in existence since 2005, and was, till 2010 a biennial award, at which time it became an annual award.

The prizes are worth TT $500,000 each, and each laureate receives a medal and citation at a ceremony in April. For further information, visit us at www.ansacaribbeanawards.com, or on Facebook. An introductory video is available on our YouTube Channel (ANSCAFE).

To download the full press kit (includes Laureate Biographies), please CLICK HERE.

Corporate Communications Department
ANSA McAL Group of Companies
February 06th, 2015
Tel: (868) 625-3670-75
Source: Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence Press Kit

Important releases
The ANSA McAL Foundation Delivers On Its Promise To The Region See details ->
InTouch Edition 04 – Give It Your Best Shot See details ->